Not rendering correctly? View this email as a web page here.
SoWHWeeklyUpdate.jpg
Issue No. 20 | March 27, 2018

UPDATE FROM THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

5 More Days Remaining!

, we are looking for our next group of leaders for the open SOWH Board & Nominations Committee positions. Submit your name, or nominate a colleague at www.womenshealthapta.org/nominations-elections.

Open Positions:

  • Vice President (Term 2019-2022)
  • Director of Communications (Term 2019-2022)
  • Director of Practice (Term 2019-2022)
  • Nomination Committee Member (Term 2019-2022)


EDUCATION

Spring Break Discount - 10% OFF eligible courses*
March 27-April 6, 2018 

Shop online today and use this discount code at check out for select live and online courses: SPRINGBREAK-10

Browse Live Regional Courses
Browse Online Courses

*This discount can be applied towards all CAPP courses and select collaborative courses including:


NAME CHANGE TASK FORCE UPDATE

We have had very engaging feedback from our membership through the Member Care & Share Form. This week we are sharing a word cloud showing the words and phrases that have been most prominently featured in comments received from July 1, 2017 to February 20, 2018.



The Board promised you our members to a final name proposal by July 1, 2018. In the interim, we have heard and learned so muuch from CSM, and we want to extend the conversation to the entire membership. We encourage you to share your questions, feedback and ideas on our future name through the SoWH Member Care & Share Form.

Calendar

2018 Regional Course Schedule
Worldwide
View  Schedule

2018 FAF Scholarship Applications Due
March 30, 2018 | 11:59 PM ET
Apply Now

2018 SoWH Nominations Close
March 31, 2018
Details & Application

2018 Research Grant Applications Due
Nationwide
April 1, 2018 | 11:59 PM ET
Apply Now

Spring Break 10% Discount on Eligible SoWH Courses
March 27-April 6, 2018
Shop Now

Rehab_400x80

Sponsored Advertisement


A JEWEL FORM THE JOURNAL (JWHPT)

This month's featured Jewel from the Journal of Women's Health Physical Therapy

1) March 2018 Hot Topics from our Publisher
Biofeedback + Pediatrics

2) Exclusive Access to Pre-Published Content

3) Book Reviewers Needed for the Journal
There is opportunity for additional book reviewers for the Journal and you can keep any book you review. Book reviews are intended to provide information for professionals to make better decisions about which books to buy for their library or to suggest for their patients.

Please send an email to Rebecca Stephenson, Book Editor, rgspt1@gmail.com if you are interested in reviewing books for the Journal. In the subject line please put "Book Reviewer"


PARTNERSHIP

junomagWe're excited to partner with Juno, an online magazine and support community for women with urinary incontinence, on an ongoing series of interviews and contributed articles to raise awareness of pelvic floor physical therapy.


BYLAWS UPDATE

Bylaws update from CSM! During our SoWH Business Meeting at CSM, the membership in attendance held a vote and approved 4 out of 6 proposed amendments. They advised for SoWH to present an updated proposal for the remaining two amendments in the next six months (by August 2018).

RESULTS 

APPROVED AMENDMENTS
These are the 4 Amendments that were approved:

#1 - ARTICLE IV. COMPONENT MEMBERSHIP 
Section 2 = gives PTs and PTAs equal votes at 1 vote each

#2 - ARTICLE VI. MEETINGS
Sections 1(Annual), 3(Special), 4(Regional) = empowers SoWH Board + Members to hold in-person and virtual (electronic) meetings. Eases restrictions for Board + Members to call special and regional meetings.

#3 - ARTICLE VI. MEETINGS
Section 5 (Voting) = confirms equality of PT and PTA voting. Permits electronic voting at virtual (electronic) meetings and at in-person meetings.

#4 - ARTICLE X. NOMINATIONS AND ELECTION OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS 
Confirms electronic voting.


AMENDMENTS TO BE REVIEWED AND RESUBMITTED BY AUGUST 2018
These are the 2 Amendments where the members in attendance wanted more review and revisions:

#1 - ARTICLE VII. BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Section 1 = Two new board roles are created: President-Elect and Past President. The board size increases to 12 (between 10-15).

#2 - ARTICLE VII. BOARD OF DIRECTORS
Section 2 = President-Elect/President/Past President terms are each 1 year in length. President-Elect automatically succeeds President role. 

We will continue to be in dialogue with you our members on this exciting and transformative time, as now our next vote on the remaining two amendments will be an electronic vote by ALL of our eligible SoWH voting members through a virtual/digital meeting. 

In the interim, your resource to all resources on the Bylaws Amendments is available here*New version of the Bylaws is available to view here.

We encourage you to share your questions, feedback and ideas on the Bylaws Amendments and upcoming second vote through the SoWH Member Care & Share Form.


SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS (SIGs)

SoWH has three active SIGs: Early Professional SIG (EPSIG), Pregnancy & PostPartum SIG (PPSIG), Student SIG (SSIG).

*Note: SoWH is developing tech platforms that will allow for ease of communication within these SIG communities. Stay tuned for new updates!*

Early Professional (EPSIG)
All SOWH Members within the first 5 years of their career are automatically members of the EPSIG. The EPSIG mission is to best prepare early professionals within the specialization (0-5 years + last semester of DPT) through mentorship, networking, information, advocacy and leadership. EPSIG will be holding Executive Committee elections in Fall 2018 for the roles of President, President-Elect, Director of Administration and Vice President. In the interim, if you have an interest in any volunteer engagement opportunity, please sign-up.

Pregnancy & PostPartum (PPSIG)
The PPSIG is a SoWH community of professionals having a common interest in the evaluation, treatment, and wellness of pregnancy and postpartum women. PPSIG will be holding Executive Committee elections in Fall 2018 for the roles of Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Vice President. In the interim, if you have an interest in any volunteer engagement opportunity, please sign-up.

Student SIG (SSIG)
All SOWH Student Members attending an accredited PT program are automatically members of the SSIG. The SSIG is a diverse and welcoming community for PT students interested in women's and men's health, and a way to connect and grow professionally. SSIG will be holding Executive Committee elections in Fall 2018.In the interim, if you have an interest in any volunteer engagement opportunity, please sign-up.


IOPTWH MONTHLY UPDATE

From International Organization of Physical Therapists in Women's Health (IOPTWH): Consultation with Membership on Changing the Name of IOPTWH

Note: IOPTWH membership is a benefit of your SoWH membership.

The first delegate survey on changing the name of the organisation resulted in 72% of the members voting in favour of a name change. These results were shared with all members in the June 2017 edition of our Newsletter, which is downloadable here.

Subsequently the topic was discussed further at a meeting of IOPTWH delegates during the WCPT Congress in Cape Town in July 2017. Further information was sent out in the January 2018 newsletter.

To facilitate the consultation process further, we are gathering information using a simple online survey to answer 4 questions:

1. What wording does your member group believe should be included in the title?
2. What wording does your member group believe should be excluded from the title?
3. Does your group have any suggestions on what the new name might be?
4. Does your group have any other information, questions or comments they would like the committee to discuss or consider?

As your USA representative to IOPTWH, SoWH wants to hear from YOU, our members on these 4 questions. Please complete this quick online survey, and we will compile your responses into the official SoWH Report to SoWH on this very important issue.


OPPORTUNITIES

2018 Federal Advocacy Forum (2) (2)-1


UPCOMING EVENTS

ICS 2018 |August 28-31, 2018 | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Abstract Submission: 
1 March 2018 - 3 April 2018
Early Bird Registration: 15 March 2018 - 12 June 2018

We invite all experts in the field of Incontinence and Pelvic Floor Dysfunction to Philadelphia for ICS 2018. The ICS annual meeting brings together the most renowned international experts in the research and the treatment of pelvic organs and pelvic floor dysfunctions, with particular regard to incontinence. We expect to present a scientific programme that will attract a multi-disciplinary group of professionals including urologists, gynaecologists, neurologists, nurses, physical therapists, basic scientists and physiologists. Learn more


SOCIAL MEDIA POST OF THE WEEK

Twitter Post


SoWH MEMBER HIGHLIGHT

theresa_spitznagleMeet Theresa “Tracy” Spitznagle, PT DPT, WCS

Tracy, the 2011 winner of the Elizabeth Noble award, is currently working with Washington University in St. Louis Missouri. Her time is split between treating in the clinic, research, teaching and heading their Women’s Health Residency program. Talking with Tracy is like talking to an instant friend – she is kind, warm and clearly passionate about her work – both in treating patients as well as mentoring the next generation of therapists. Check out Tracy's advice for new graduates with an interest in women's health.


FINANCIAL DEVELOPMENT

What is the #1 Reason to Advertise with SoWH?

Our multi-channel communications reach over 3,300+ physical therapists, researchers, organizations, practitioners, and website visitors.

If you access to this influential group, please contact the Section on Women’s Health Director of Financial Development, Alexandra Hill, at financialdev@womenshealthapta.org.


PRACTICE

The American Physical Therapy Association is writing a Clinical Practice Guideline to help with the care of women with urinary leakage. We would like your opinion. All women are welcome to complete the survey. You do not have to have urinary leakage to do the survey. The responses will help us to better understand how women think and feel about urinary leakage and the available treatments. The survey will take about 15-minutes to complete. Thank you. **Note: This survey is focused on the patient/general public community.**


Take Survey


RESEARCH

SOWH Announces $40K Research Grant with Foundation for PT


 

Quiz Time

Which of the following is a open SoWH Board of Directors or Nominations Committee position for the 2018 SoWH Board Elections?
A) Vice President
B) Nominations Committee
C) Director of Communications
D) Director of Daenerys (Dragon Management)
E) Director of Practice

Answer = D. The online nominations form is available here: http://www.womenshealthapta.org/nominations-elections/

If you are interested in getting more engaged, please complete the SoWH Member Care & Share form here